State primary election slated for Sept. 9

Mission Hill voters will head to the polls on Sept. 9 for the state’s primary election. They will help decide who will garner the Democratic and Republican nominations for several races, including for the Governor’s Office.

Local state elected officials face little or no competition in the election.

State Sen. Sonia Chang-Díaz (2nd Suffolk District) will face Roy Owens, a regular candidate for elected office, for the Democratic nomination for her seat. David James Wyatt, another regular candidate who had a failed mayoral bid in 2013, is running unchallenged for the Republican nod.

Democrat state Rep. Jeffrey Sánchez (15th Suffolk District) will not face an opponents in either the primary election or the general election in November.

In the Governor’s Office race, state Attorney General Martha Coakley, who has been leading in the polls, will face off against state Treasurer Steve Grossman and Don Berwick for the Democratic nomination. For the Republican slot, Charlie Baker, who lost the last gubernatorial race to Deval Patrick, is pitted against Mark Fisher.

The Democratic nomination for lieutenant governor has three candidates vying for the nod: Cambridge City Councilor Leland Cheung, former Lancaster Selectman Stephen Kerrigan and Michael Lake. Karyn Polito is running unopposed for the Republican spot.

Three candidates are fighting for the chance to replace Coakley as the state attorney general: former state assistant attorney general Maura Healey and former State Sen. Warren Tolman on the Democratic side, while John Miller is the sole Republican.

State Rep. Thomas Conroy, state Sen. Barry Finegold and former Brookline Selectman Deborah Goldberg duel for the Democratic nomination for state treasurer, while Michael James Heffernan runs unopposed for the Republican spot.

The field—and drama—thickens for the Suffolk County register of probate office race. The current office holder, Patricia Campatelli, allegedly punched an employee and was suspended. She faces five challengers for the Democratic nomination: former Boston City Councilor Felix D. Arroyo, Richard Joyce, David Keenan, Martin Keogh and John Sepulveda. There are no Republican challengers.

Three candidates are vying for the Democratic nomination for sheriff of Suffolk County: current officeholder Steven Tompkins, Douglas Bennett and Jeremiah Goodwin. There are no Republican challengers. The winner will serve out the remaining term of Jamaica Plain resident Andrea Cabral, who was appointed to the state secretary of public safety. The next full-term sheriff election will be in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.