No competitive Council races for most Hill residents

There will be no competitive City Council races for most residents living in the Mission Hill area to vote on during the City’s preliminary election Sept. 8.

District 8 City Councilor Josh Zakim, who represents most of Mission Hill, is running unopposed during the preliminary and general elections.

Some residents who live in a triangle of area formed by Huntington Avenue and Parker Street near Sweeney Field will be voting on the District 7 race on Sept. 8. City Councilor Tito Jackson faces five challengers for the District 7 seat: Charles Clemons, Kevin Dwire, Haywood Fennell, Althea Garrison and Roy Owens.

Meanwhile, there are only five candidates for the At-Large City Council race. That means there will not be a preliminary election for that race and all candidates will appear on the November ballot. The top four vote getters receive a seat on the Council. The candidates are Annisa Essaibi George, Current At-Large City Councilors Stephen Murphy, Michael Flaherty, Ayanna Pressley and Michelle Wu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.