Walsh, Jackson to battle for mayor after low-turnout preliminary

Mayor Martin Walsh and City Councilor Tito Jackson will face-off against each other in November in a battle to be the leader of the city, as they were the two top vote getters in the mayoral race during the City’s preliminary election on Sept. 26, according to unofficial City results.

But if the general election plays out in similar fashion to the preliminary, it won’t be much of a battle. Walsh garnered 34,869 votes, or 63 percent of voters, while Jackson finished with 29 percent. The two others challengers, Robert Cappucci and Joseph A. Wiley, finished with 7 percent and 1 percent, respectively.

There was not a lot of interest in the preliminary election, as only 14 percent of registered voters made their way to the polls.

That was the only competitive race that most Mission Hill voters had a chance to help decide on Sept. 26. City Councilor Matt O’Malley of District 6, which covers a portion of Back of the Hill, did not have a challenger in the preliminary and will not have one for the Nov. 7 general election. Mission Hill City Councilor Josh Zakim did not have a preliminary challenger, but will face off against Fenway resident Kristen Mobilia in the general election.

But with Jackson opting to forgo a reelection campaign in order for a chance to become mayor, a few Hillers did help decide the District 7 seat, as that covers the triangle of area formed by Huntington Avenue and Parker Street near Sweeney Field in the Mission Hill area. The contest had 13 candidates enter the fray. Kim Janey and Rufus J. Faulk were the top vote getters, receiving 25 percent and 12 percent, respectively, and will face each other in the general election.

There was no preliminary race for an at-large city councilor seat, as all eight candidates are guaranteed a spot in the general election. The candidates Domingos DaRosa, William A. King, Althea Garrison, and Pat Payaso will face incumbents Michael Flaherty, Annissa Essaibi George, Ayanna Pressley, and Michelle Wu. The top four vote getters will receive an at-large city councilor seat.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.