Hillers head to the polls on Sept. 26

Mission Hill voters will head to the polls on Sept. 26 for the City’s preliminary election to help decide which mayoral candidates will move on the November general election.

Mayor Martin Walsh is facing off against three challengers: City Councilor Tito Jackson, Robert Cappucci, and Joseph A. Wiley. The top two vote getters in the Sept. 26 preliminary will move on to the general election in November.

That will likely be the only competitive race that most Mission Hill voters will have a chance to help decide on Sept. 26. City Councilor Matt O’Malley of District 6, which covers a portion of Back of the Hill, does not have a challenger in either the preliminary or the Nov. 7 general election. Mission Hill City Councilor Josh Zakim does not have a preliminary challenger, but will face off against Fenway resident Kristen Mobilia in the general election.

But with Tito Jackson opting to forgo a reelection campaign in order for a chance to become mayor a few Hillers will help decide the District 7 seat, as that covers the triangle of area formed by Huntington Avenue and Parker Street near Sweeney Field in the Mission Hill area. The open seat has unleashed a fury of activity in the District 7 race, with 13 candidates entering the fray. They are Angelina Magdalena Camacho, Joao Gomes DePina, Rufus J. Faulk, Carlos Tony Henriquez, Kim Janey, Deeqo Jibril, Brian Keith, Jose Lopez, Charles Clemons Muhammad, Roy Owens, Dominique A. Williams, Hassan A. Williams, and Steven A. Wise.

There will be no preliminary race for an at-large city councilor seat, as all eight candidates are guaranteed a spot in the general election. The candidates Domingos DaRosa, William A. King, Althea Garrison, and Pat Payaso will face incumbents Michael Flaherty, Annissa Essaibi George, Ayanna Pressley, and Michelle Wu. The top four vote getters will receive an at-large city councilor seat.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.