Eight win ‘Harmony’ scholarships

Eight Mission Hill residents were awarded $500 scholarships for post-high-school education by the local Harmony on the Hill project at a Nov. 19 ceremony.

The winners included: Esohe Amadin, Shante Clark, Ian Cotterell, Dominique Cotton, Lynette Crosby, James Morgan Thames, Laura Pizarro and Walter Pultinas.

The awards were presented at a Tobin School ceremony by Ron Bell and Jim Farrow, co-chairs of Harmony on the Hill. The project addresses race relations on Mission Hill. It was founded in 2010 to mark the 20th anniversary of the Charles Stuart murder case, an infamous case where a white man killed his wife in Mission Hill and blamed the crime on a nonexistent black man. Other Harmony on the Hill programs have included workshops and concerts.

The ceremony also included award presentations to the children of Willie Bennett, a man wrongfully accused of the crime.

From press materials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.