Field narrows for citywide, local races

The race for District 8 City Council seat, which covers Mission Hill, has five candidates after a review of required signatures, according to a City document. District 8 candidates needed 150 signatures.

The current office holder, Mike Ross, is running for mayor.

Mission Hill resident Richard Giordano was another candidate, but has dropped out of the race to take a job as civic engagement director at the Fenway Community Development Corporation.

“This job offer came up only recently and very unexpectedly,” said Giordano in a press release. “Accepting it will allow me to work on the issues that are near and dear to my heart, still have a family and personal life, and an income.”

He said he will be returning all campaign contributions.

The candidates for the District 8 seat are Angelica Addivinola, Thomas Dooley III, Mission Hiller Gloria Murray, Michael Nichols and Josh Zakim.

The field for the mayoral race dropped from 15 candidates to 12, after the review of signatures. Mayoral candidates had to collect 3,000 signatures.

One Mission Hill resident—City Councilor Mike Ross—is in the mayoral race.

The other mayoral candidates are City Councilors Felix Arroyo, John Connolly, Rob Consalvo and Charles Yancey; Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative Executive Director John Barros; former police officer and co-founder of the TOUCH 106.1 FM Charles Clemons; Suffolk County District Attorney Daniel Conley; former state Rep. Charlotte Golar Richie; Codman Square Health Center founder Bill Walczak; state Rep. Martin Walsh; and Jackson Square resident David Wyatt.

For the At-Large City Council race, 19 candidates remain after the review, including Mission Hiller Ramon Soto. At-Large City Councilor candidates needed 1,500 signatures.

The other At-Large City Councilor candidates are incumbent City Councilors Stephen Murphy and Ayanna Pressley; Frank John Addivinola Jr.; Christopher Conroy; former City Councilor and mayoral candidate Michael Flaherty; Philip Arthur Frattaroli; former state Rep. Althea Garrison; Annissa Essaibi George; Jack Kelly III; Keith Kenyon; Martin Keogh; Catherine O’Neill; Jeffrey Michael Ross; former City Councilor Gareth Saunders; Seamus Whelan; Francisco White; Douglas Wohn; and Michelle Wu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.