Essaibi-George, Campbell voted new members on Council

The number of women on the City Council has doubled, as Andrea Campbell beat out longtime District 4 City Councilor Charles Yancey and Annissa Essaibi-George edged out incumbent Stephen Murphy for the last At-Large seat in the Nov. 3 election, according to unofficial City results.

Besides the At-Large City Council race, the only competitive Council race on Mission Hill was for the District 7 seat, which incumbent Tito Jackson easily won.

About 14 percent of registered voters participated in the Nov. 3 election.

There were only five candidates for the four At-Large City Council seats. Ayanna Pressley was the top vote getter, garnering 24 percent, followed by Michelle Wu (22 percent), Michael Flaherty (20 percent) and newcomer Essaibi-George (18 percent). Murphy, who has been on the Council for more than 15 years, had his tenure ended after collecting 15 percent.

Campbell made it look easy knocking off the longest current serving Council member. She won 61 percent of votes to Yancey’s 38 percent. Yancey was first elected to the Council in 1983.

Jackson easily retained his District 7 seat, which covers the triangle of area formed by Huntington Avenue and Parker Street near Sweeney Field in the Mission Hill area. He took 67 percent of votes to Charles Clemons’ 32 percent.

Mission Hill City Councilor Josh Zakim won reelection handily, especially since he had no challenger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.