One competitive Council race in Hill area for preliminary

There will be one competitive City Council race—District 7—in Mission Hill area during the City’s preliminary election Sept. 26, according to a list provided by the City’s Election Department.

City Councilor Matt O’Malley of District 6, which covers a portion of Back of the Hill, does not have a challenger in either the preliminary or the Nov. 7 general election. Mission Hill City Councilor Josh Zakim does not have a preliminary challenger, but will face off against Fenway resident Kristen Mobilia in the general election.

Tito Jackson is the current city councilor for District 7, which covers the triangle of area formed by Huntington Avenue and Parker Street near Sweeney Field in the Mission Hill area. Jackson has opted to forgo a reelection campaign in order for a chance to become mayor. That has unleashed a fury of activity in the District 7 race, with 13 candidates entering the fray. They are Angelina Magdalena Camacho, Joao Gomes DePina, Rufus J. Faulk, Carlos Tony Henriquez, Kim Janey, Deeqo Jibril, Brian Keith, Jose Lopez, Charles Clemons Muhammad, Roy Owens, Dominique A. Williams, Hassan A. Williams, and Steven A. Wise.

In the mayoral race, Jackson will face-off against incumbent Martin Walsh and two other challengers: Robert Cappucci and Joseph A. Wiley. The top two vote getters in the Sept. 26 preliminary will move on to the general election.

There will be no preliminary race for an at-large city councilor seat, as all eight candidates are guaranteed a spot in the general election. The candidates Domingos DaRosa, William A. King, Althea Garrison, and Pat Payaso will face incumbents Michael Flaherty, Annissa Essaibi George, Ayanna Pressley, and Michelle Wu. The top four vote getters will receive an at-large city councilor seat.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.